de_DE

Rolling Cross-Section Campaign Survey with Post-election Panel Wave

(Component 2)

Several elements of the GLES are designed to allow for the best possible measurement of the short-term dynamics of campaign communication and its effects. To achieve this, movements of public opinion need to be observed at close intervals during the campaign. GLES combines two components that complement one another for that purpose (components 2, directed by Rüdiger Schmitt-Beck, and 3, directed by Harald Schoen).

RCS studies trace aggregate change on a day-to-day basis, and are very sensitive instruments for measuring campaign-induced shifts of public opinion, immediately registering voters’ reactions to any foreseeable or unforeseeable event occurring during the campaign, and allowing to detect the decay or sustenance of these effects. Although they do not capture intra-individual change during the campaign, they can be easily supplemented with a post-election panel wave, which then allows for pre-post-election comparisons at the individual level based on a representative sample.

At the German Federal Election of 2009 a daily rolling cross-section (RCS) campaign survey was conducted within the framework of the GLES with 100 interviews per day on average for the final 60 days of the campaign. Interviewing was organized in such a way that not only the entire sample but also the subsamples available for each day of the campaign constitute random samples of the universe of all voters. Conducted by telephone (CATI), it thus produced about 6,008 interviews in total. 4.027 of the pre-election respondents were re-interviewed after the election.

At the German Federal Election of 2013 the study was replicated: The pre-election field period was extended to 76 days and on average about 104 respondents were interviewed per day. Altogether this yielded 7.882 pre-election interviews. 5.353 respondents were re-interviewed after the election.

Using an RCS campaign survey as the pre-election wave, followed by re-interviews of the same respondents after the election has in recent years become a standard design for analyzing short-term change at elections. It combines the advantages of the RCS design with those of a pre-post-election panel survey and has been successfully introduced in Germany for analyzing campaign dynamics at the Bundestag election of 2005.

us

Rolling Cross-Section-Wahlkampfstudie mit Nachwahl-Panelwelle

(Komponente 2)

Mehrere Elemente der GLES sind so gestaltet, dass sie die bestmögliche Messung der kurzfristigen Dynamiken der Kampagnenkommunikation und ihrer Effekte bieten. Um dies zu erreichen, wurden Veränderungen der öffentlichen Meinung in kurzen Intervallen während des Wahlkampfes beobachtet. Die GLES kombiniert zwei Komponenten, die sich gegenseitig zu diesem Zweck ergänzen (Komponente 2, geleitet von Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Schmitt-Beck; Komponente 3, geleitet von Prof. Dr. Harald Schoen).

Rolling Cross-Section-Studien (RCS) verfolgen Veränderungen im Aggregat auf einer täglichen Basis und stellen so ein sehr feinfühliges Instrument für die Messung von kampagneninduzierten Veränderungen der öffentlichen Meinung dar. Wählerreaktionen auf jegliche vorhersehbare und nicht vorhersehbare Ereignisse während des Wahlkampfes können direkt registriert und das Abklingen oder der Erhalt dieser Effekte aufgedeckt werden. Obwohl intra-individuelle Veränderungen während der Kampagne nicht erfasst werden können, ermöglicht die Kombination mit einem Nachwahl-Panel Vor- und Nachwahlvergleiche auf der individuellen Ebene basierend auf einem repräsentativen Sample.

Zur Bundestagswahl 2009 wurde im Rahmen der GLES eine RCS-Umfrage mit durchschnittlich 100 Interviews pro Tag während der letzten 60 Tage des Wahlkampfes durchgeführt. Die Durchführung der Vorwahlbefragung wurde dabei so organisiert, dass nicht nur die gesamte Stichprobe, sondern auch die Sub-Stichproben, die für jeden Tag der Kampagne zur Verfügung stehen, zufällige Stichproben der Wählerschaft darstellen. Insgesamt wurden durch Telefonbefragungen (CATI) vor der Wahl 6.008 Interviews mit wahlberechtigten Personen realisiert, von denen nach der Wahl 4.027 wiederbefragt werden konnten.

Bei der Bundestagswahl 2013 wurde die Untersuchung wiederholt: Die Vorwahlbefragungen erstreckten sich über 76 Tage und im Durchschnitt wurden rund 104 Telefoninterviews pro Tag durchgeführt. Insgesamt nahmen 7.882 Bürger an der Vorwahlstudie teil, von denen nach der Wahl 5.353 ein zweites Mal befragt werden konnten.

Der Gebrauch einer RCS-Kampagnenumfrage in der Vorwahlperiode, gefolgt von Re-Interviews der gleichen Befragten nach der Wahl, ist in den letzten Jahren in vielen Ländern zu einem Standarddesign für die Analyse kurzfristigen Wandels bei Wahlen geworden. Es kombiniert die Vorteile des RCS-Designs mit denen der Panelanalyse und wurde in Deutschland erstmals bei der Analyse der Kampagnendynamik bei der Bundestagswahl 2005 realisiert.