de_DE

Long-term Panel

(Component 7)

Cross-section surveys before and after a general election are an important component of each election study. Studying individual change in voting behavior is impossible based on cross-sectional data only, though. Since analyzing long-term individual change in political attitudes and behavior is a primary focus of GLES, conducting panel surveys covering several Bundestag elections is necessary (component 7, directed by Prof. Dr. Harald Schoen).

In the GLES long-term panel, a rolling three-wave panel is applied that was first established in a previous project covering the three elections from 1994 to 2002 by Falter, Gabriel, and Rattinger (ZA4301).

The recruitment of panel respondents is effected as part of the pre- and post-election cross-sections. Those respondents who express their willingness to be re-interviewed in the future form the target population of a new panel. For instance, in 2009 about 2,700 out of 4,300 cross-section respondents (ca. 63%) were willing to be re-interviewed. Each panel covers three Bundestag elections, so that the panel started in 2009 will be continued in 2013 and 2017. Respondents always remain in the same survey period in each wave (pre- or post-election).

The rolling three-wave panel design links the long-term panel component of GLES to electoral studies conducted by the principal investigator responsible for this part of the project for previous Bundestag elections. The respondents of the cross-section survey in 2002 were re-interviewed in 2009 for the third and last time. Data for this panel are available for download via GESIS (ZA5320). Additionally, the cross-section study by K├╝hnel, Niedermayer and Westle at the 2005 election (ZA4332) will be continued until 2013. A dataset comprising the surveys for this panel from 2005, 2007, 2009, and 2011 is also available for downloaded via GESIS (ZA5321).

The close connection to the cross-sections implies that the field time of the long-term panel and the cross-sections is largely identical. In addition, both components are surveyed with a very similar questionnaire and the same survey method (CAPI).

Since panel surveys are inevitably confronted with attrition it is decisive to continually motivate panel respondents to remain in the panel, especially between any two Bundestag elections. Short re-interviews are therefore conducted every year by CATI or mail survey. These annual interviews not only ensure the sustained motivation of respondents and keep addresses up to date, but also enrich the analytical potential of this component. Long-term panel data enable researchers to track individual changes in attitudes and political behavior that occur between consecutive elections. Both the period of time of each panel covering two full electoral terms and the continuity of the rolling three-wave-design pursued since 1994 are exceptional characteristics of this GLES-component, even in international comparison.

us

Langfrist-Panel

(Komponente 7)

Querschnittsumfragen vor und nach der Wahl sind ein sehr wichtiger Bestandteil jeder Wahlstudie. Individuelle Veränderungen im Wahlverhalten sind auf diese Weise aber nicht zu messen. Da ein zentrales Ziel der GLES darin besteht, langfristige, individuelle Veränderungen politischer Einstellungen und politischen Verhaltens zu untersuchen, sind Panelumfragen über mehrere Bundestagswahlen notwendig (Komponente 7, geleitet von Prof. Dr. Harald Schoen).

Mit dem Langfrist-Panel wird daher ein rollierendes dreiwelliges Panel-Design angewendet, wie es erstmals von 1994 bis 2002 von Falter, Gabriel und Rattinger (ZA4301) durchgeführt wurde.

Die Rekrutierung für das Langfristpanel erfolgt im Rahmen der Vor- und Nachwahl-Querschnittsbefragung (Komponente 1). Alle Befragten, die sich grundsätzlich bereit erklären auch an zukünftigen Umfragen teilzunehmen, bilden die Grundgesamtheit für ein neues Panel. 2009 waren dies beispielsweise knapp 2700 von rund 4300 Befragten (ca. 63%). Jedes Panel umfasst insgesamt drei Bundestagswahlen, das 2009 begonnene Panel wird also bei den Bundestagswahlen 2013 und 2017 fortgeführt. Die Befragten bleiben bei jeder Welle innerhalb der gleichen Umfrageperiode (vor oder nach der Wahl).

Das rollierende Dreiwellen-Panel verbindet die langfristige Panelkomponente der GLES überdies auch mit Wahlstudien vorheriger Bundestagswahlen. Die Befragten der Querschnittsstudie zur Bundestagswahl 2002 wurden im Jahr 2009 zum dritten und letzten Mal befragt. Die Daten des Panels von 2002 bis 2009 sind über GESIS als Download verfügbar (ZA5320). Außerdem wird die (Nachwahl-)Querschnittsbefragung von 2005 fortgesetzt, die von Kühnel, Niedermayer und Westle (ZA4332) durchgeführt wurde. Ein Datensatz für dieses Panel mit den bisher vorliegenden Daten aus 2005, 2007, 2009 und 2011 ist ebenfalls über GESIS zu beziehen (ZA5321).

Die enge Verbindung zu der Querschnittskomponente impliziert, dass die Feldzeit des Langfrist-Panels und der Querschnittsumfrage identisch sind. Außerdem werden in beiden sehr ähnliche Fragekataloge verwendet und mit der gleichen Umfragemethode (CAPI) durchgeführt.

Da Panelumfragen zwangsläufig mit einer gewissen Mortalität konfrontiert sind, ist es entscheidend, die Befragten zu motivieren auch zwischen zwei Bundestagswahlen im Panel zu verbleiben. Kurze Interviews mit den Befragten werden daher jährlich via CATI oder schriftlicher Befragung durchgeführt. Damit werden nicht nur die Motivation der Teilnehmer aufrechterhalten und der Adressbestand aktualisiert, sondern gleichzeitig zusätzliche Analysepotentiale eröffnet. Mit Hilfe des Langfrist-Panels ist es möglich, individuelle Veränderungen von Einstellungen und des politischen Verhaltens zwischen aufeinander folgenden Wahlen zu analysieren. Sowohl die Zeitspanne der einzelnen Panels von zwei vollen Legislaturperioden als auch die Kontinuität des seit 1994 fortgeführten rollierenden drei-Wellen-Designs stellen auch im internationalen Vergleich eine Besonderheit dar.