de_DE

Candidate Campaign Survey

(Component 6)

As one component of the GLES, a survey among the candidates to the German Bundestag for the German Federal Elections 2017 is being conducted (led by Prof. Dr. Bernhard Weßels). The survey is designed in dual-mode (postal and online). It includes all constituency and party-list candidates of the political parties represented in the Bundestag, as well as those candidates of the Pirate Party and the AfD. This adds up to a total number of approximately 2.500 candidates.

The Candidate Study 2017 builds on four successful predecessor studies conducted in 2002, 2005,2009 and 2013 – the latter already part the GLES (ZA5319 and ZA5716) – and it is also based on experiences gained through international projects such as the European Candidate Study 2009 (as part of PIREDEU). Due to the international cooperation with the Comparative Candidate Survey (CCS), the German Candidate Study 2017 questionnaire also contains the CCS-core questionnaire, which allows international comparison of candidates, their preferences and behavior, e.g. in regard to campaigning.

The survey contains items on the respondents’ background, their recruitment and nomination, campaign efforts and strategies, political preferences and issue positions. Some of the questions are both part of the candidate as well as the cross-section voter survey (component 1). On the one hand, this enables us to compare the voters’ and candidates’ preferences. On the other hand, the impact of local campaigning on voting behavior can be analyzed. Additionally, aggregate characteristics of the constituencies, gained from official statistics, allow the socio-demographic context to be taken into account.

Report Candidate Campaign Survey 2009 (only in German)
Report Candidate Campaign Survey 2013 (only in German)

us

Kandidatenstudie

(Komponente 6)

Im Rahmen der GLES wird eine Befragung der Kandidaten zum Deutschen Bundestag für die Bundestagswahl 2017 durchgeführt (Leitung: Prof. Dr. Bernhard Weßels). Die Befragung nutzt ein Dual-Mode-Design (postalisch und online). Sie umfasst alle Direkt- und Listenkandidaten der im Bundestag vertretenen Parteien, sowie die Direkt- und Listenkandidaten der FDP und der AfD. Die Gesamtzahl der für diese Parteien antretenden Kandidaten liegt bei etwa 2.500 Personen.

Die Kandidatenstudie 2017 baut auf vier erfolgreichen Vorgängerstudien aus den Jahren 2002, 2005,2009 und 2013 – die letzteren im Rahmen der GLES (ZA5319 und ZA5716) – auf und stützt sich auf Erfahrungen, die im Rahmen internationaler Projekte wie etwa der Europäischen Kandidatenstudie 2009 (Teil des PIREDEU-Projekts) gemacht wurden. Im Rahmen der internationalen Kooperation mit dem Comparative Candidate Survey (CCS) wird das Befragungsinstrument der Kandidatenstudie 2017 auch den CCS-Kernfragebogen enthalten und damit den internationalen Vergleich von Kandidaten, ihren Einstellungen und ihrem Verhalten, etwa im Wahlkampf erlauben.

Der Kern der Befragung besteht aus Daten zum Hintergrund der Befragten, ihrer Rekrutierung und Selektion, Kampagnenverhalten, Einstellungen sowie Policy-Positionen. Einige Fragen werden sowohl in der Kandidaten- als auch in der Querschnitts-Wählerbefragung (Komponente 1) gestellt, um so zum einen den Vergleich der Einstellungen von Wählern und Kandidaten zu ermöglichen und zum anderen die Bedeutung lokaler Kampagnen für das Wahlverhalten zu analysieren. Aggregat-Charakteristika der Wahlkreise aus der amtlichen Statistik erlauben zudem, den soziodemographischen Kontext mit einzubeziehen.

Kurzbericht zur Kandidatenstudie 2009
Kurzbericht zur Kandidatenstudie 2013